Resisting Borders: Refugee Health, Human Rights and Responsibilities

Final Conference Schedule

DAY 1: October 9

5am-9am Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

11am-3pm Central European Time (CET)

7pm-11pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)

 

Welcome and Introduction

5:00am-5:15am EDT

11:00am-11:15pm CET

7:00pm-7:15pm AEST

Conference Chairs: Lisa Eckenwiler, George Mason University; Samia Hurst-Manjo, Geneva University Medical School; and Sean Philpott-Jones, Clarkson University

 

Session 1: Philosophical Perspectives on Refugees and Migrants

5:15am-6:15am EDT

11:15am-12:15pm CET

7:15pm-8:15pm AEST

Moderator: Christine Straehle, University of Ottawa

  • Freedom of Movement: A Moderate View, Adam Hosein, Northeastern University
  • Global Responsibility for Refugees and Structural Injustice, Serena Parekh, Northeastern University
  • The Morality of Deporting ‘Aliens’, Patti Tamara Lenard, University of Ottawa

Discussion (15 minutes)

Break (15 minutes)

 

Session 2: Migrants and Refugees – Societal Determinants of Health I

6:30am-7:30am EDT

12:30pm-1:30pm CET

8:30pm-9:30pm AEST

Moderator: Lisa Schwartz, McMaster University

  • Sexual and Gender-Based Violence Against Female Refugees, Maya Ezgi Avci, Chicago Kent College of Law
  • I Was a Stranger and You Welcomed Me. A Study of Migrant Shelters on the Rio Grande Valley-Tamaulipas Border, Bertha Alicia Bermúdez Tapia, University of Colorado-Boulder

Discussion (15 minutes)

Break (15 minutes)

 

Session 3: Migrants and Refugees – Societal Determinants of Health II

7:45am-8:45am EDT

1:45pm-2:45pm CET

9:45pm-10:45pm AEST

Moderator: Verina Wild, Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich

  • Ethical Considerations on International Migration: Reflections upon the Case of Chile, Báltica Cabieses, Universidad del Desarrollo, with Macarena Chepo, Marcela Oyarte, Margarita Bernales, Ana María McInyre
  • Environmental Refugees, James Dwyer, Upstate Medical University
  • Symbolic and Social boundaries in Latin American Migration “Sur-Sur” Reflections upon the Case of Chile, Piedad Gálvez, Universidad del Desarrollo, with Nassim Ajraz

Discussion (15 minutes)

Close of Day 1

 

DAY 2: October 10/11

6pm-9pm EDT

12am-3am (October 11th) CET

8am-11am (October 11th) AEST

 

Session 4: Responsibilities for Justice – States

6:00pm-7:15pm EDT

12:00am-1:15am CET

8:00am-9:15am AEST

Moderator: Ryoa Chung, Université de Montréal

  • What Duties Do States Have Towards Refugees? Sandra Raponi, Merrimack College
  • Weighing Competing Commitments to Disadvantaged Populations Within and Outside National Borders, Carlisle Runge, National Institutes of Health, with Matthew McCoy, University of Pennsylvania and Marion Danis, National Institutes of Health
  • The Institution of Asylum and Epistemic Injustice: Warnings and Structural Limits, Ezgi Sertler, Michigan State University
  • Administrative Law in Defense of Refugee Privacy: Case Report on Proposed U.S. Research on Congolese Refugees in Uganda, Gerald S. Schatz, Pennsylvania and the District of Columbia

Discussion (15 minutes)

Break (15 minutes)

 

Session 5: Responsibilities for Justice – Health Care Professionals

7:30pm-8:45pm EDT

1:30am-2:45am CET

9:30am-10:45am AEST

Moderator: Matthew Hunt, McGill University

  • High Moral Distress in Health Care Providers for the Undocumented Immigrants Needing Dialysis, Areeba Jawed, Wayne State University School of Medicine, with S.M. Moe, M. Anderson, L. Wocial and A.M. Torke, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Dual Loyalty and Medical Ethics in Offshore Asylum Seeker Detention, Deborah Zion, Victoria University
  • Medical Deportation: Legal and Ethical Issues, Sana Loue, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Discussion (15 minutes)

Close of Day 2

 

DAY 3: October 11/12

3pm-7pm EDT

9pm-1am CET

5am-9am (October 12th) AEST

Session 6: Citizen Solidarity in Theory and Practice

3:00pm-4:00pm EDT

9:00pm-10:00pm CET

5:00am-6:00am AEST

Moderator: Lisa Eckenwiler, George Mason University

  • Share My Ground: A Moral and Legal Possibility for Individuals to Welcome and Protect Refugees, Elizabeth Lanphier, Vanderbilt University
  • De-bordering Academia: From the Theory of Hospitality to the Practice of Hospitableness: Klaus-Gerd Giesen, Université Clermont Auvergne
  • Security for Whom? Unpacking the Gendered Impact of EU Securitization Policies on Migration, Zeinab Khalil, Yale University

Discussion (15 minutes)

Break (15 minutes)

 

Session 7: Migrants and Refugees – Threats to Healthcare and Other Resources

4:15pm-5:30pm EDT

10:15pm-11:30pm CET

6:15am-7:30am AEST

Moderator: Sean Philpott-Jones, Clarkson University

  • Capacity Building through Distance Education for Displaced Syrian Medical Students, Kamiar and Aresh Alaei, University of Albany
  • Cross-Border Migration and the Issues of Accessing Public Services: The Case of Yemeni Migrant Workers in Saudi Arabia: Jameel Ahmed Al-Ghaberi, Thamar University
  • International Migrant Children in Chile: Barriers to Educational and Health Services, Báltica Cabieses, Universidad de Desarrollo

Discussion (15 minutes)

Break (15 minutes)

 

Session 8: Migrants and Refugees – Innovation in Healthcare and Other Services

5:45pm-6:30pm EDT

11:45pm-12:30am CET

7:45am-8:30am AEST

Moderator: Samia Hurst-Manjo, Université de Genéve

  • Electronic Health Records and Vulnerable Migrants: The Framework for Robust ELSI Criteria, Oliver Feeney, National University of Ireland, Galway
  • Public Health Knowledge Exchange and Translation Initiative for Asylum-Seeking Refugees, Sheikh Muhammad Zeeshan Qadar, University of Manitoba

Discussion (15 minutes)

 

Closing Session: Wrap-up and next steps

6:45pm-7:30pm EDT

12:45am-1:30am CET

8:45am-9:30am AEST

Conference Chairs: Lisa Eckenwiler, George Mason University; Samia Hurst-Manjo, Geneva University Medical School; and Sean Philpott-Jones, Clarkson University